CUPA Programs

The Alameda County Department of Environmental Health (ACDEH) is the Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) that coordinates and enforces numerous local, state, and federal hazardous materials management and environmental protection programs in the county.

The ACDEH CUPA has jurisdiction in the cities of Alameda, Albany, Castro Valley, Dublin, Emeryville, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, San Lorenzo, Sunol; the unincorporated areas of Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Pleasanton and San Leandro; and parts of Byron, Mountain House and Tracy.

What's New

The California Environmental Protection Agency (CalEPA) increased the State Surcharge for CUPA Oversight from the current $49 to $84 per regulated business annually effective July 1, 2021. After four years, the State Surcharge will decrease to $57.

ACDEH has been authorized to collect the increased surcharge starting next fiscal year (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023) to allow permitting of affected businesses without delay this fiscal year, assessment of all businesses at the same time, and advance notification concerning this increased surcharge. Beginning July 1, 2022, you will see the following amounts for the State CUPA Oversight Administrative Fee (Surcharge) on your annual CUPA invoice:

   Fiscal Year    State CUPA Oversight Administrative Fee (Surcharge)
   July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023    $168 ($84 x 2)
   July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024    $84
   July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025    $84
   July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026 and onwards    $57 ($84-$27)

Click here for more information.

Get Adobe Reader